Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Waffles

To me, nothing says fall like the smell of cinnamon.

I love the smell so much I put two of those cinnamon brooms in my cart at the grocery store. And then my 7 year old son said “Those smell really bad, and I don’t think dad would want these in the house.” Defeated and deflated I put them back on the shelf.

The next morning I made these waffles and the smell was so amazing it was almost like having cinnamon brooms. Almost.

Oh. My. Goodness. These waffles were so delicious!

I took the recipe from Hamilton Beach, made it a little bit bigger and tweaked it to add the oatmeal. Why? Because oatmeal is all kinds of good for you (and I have a lot of it that needs to be used up!)

This Big Happy’s Cinnamon-Raisin Oatmeal Waffles
-serves ~12 (freeze the leftovers!)

4 cups flour
1 1/2 cup oatmeal (or thereabouts, I used old fashioned rolled oats)
8 Tbsp brown sugar (ok, cut this in half if you must)
1 Tbsp baking powder
4 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp salt
3 eggs
2 cups milk
3 cups HOT water
1-2 cups raisins (we like a lot!)

Mix everything together in the order listed. Add more water or milk if you like a thinner batter. Let the mixture sit for 5 minutes so the oats can soften. Pour into oiled waffle iron and cook like you would any other waffle.

Delicious, seriously delicious.

You can thank me later.

One thought on “Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Waffles

Leave a Reply

