When Life Happens

2353209387_ab0158e2c9_o

I’m writing this today as if I am sitting at my table talking to a friend, because I truly consider my readers to be friends. I haven’t been paying enough attention to this blog for a while now, I know it. I apologize. It seems lately that life has gotten in the way.

I’m writing this from the perspective of an overwhelmed mother and wife, and I’m not sure where I am going with it, but I’m just going to let the words fly from my fingertips.

I started this blog to share our frugal lifestyle, I was looking for a way to get back into the practice of daily writing. You see, I was once a professional writer. I even had a book contract and got an advance on my sales, but when the publishing company was sold to another publisher I broke. The new publisher initially contacted me about buying my contract but I never heard from them again. I was broken.

I know that isn’t a big deal in the grand scheme of things. In the end I made a couple hundred bucks in exchange for many hundreds of hours of “me” (writing) time, but when it came to writing I felt broken.

ThisBigHappy was born 5 years later as my return to writing. I had a passion for living frugally because after spending years of my life dealing with disastrous debt I saw an out. I saw the practice of frugal living as a way to find prosperity and responsibility. I guess I needed to feel prosperous and responsible at the time. Things took off and then writing stopped being fun and seemed more like a chore. I love to sit and write, I detest doing chores.

And so here we are. I have a million ideas going through my head but finding the time to get them down is a chore. I feel like I’m constantly being pulled between being a mother, a wife, a homemaker, a homeschooler…and all of those are things that I cannot and will not sacrifice so I can mend one minor wound.

I just wanted you to know where I’m coming from and with that said, ThisBigHappy is NOT going away. No way. I still feel joy when I receive a comment on a post. I still love writing about what I love doing. I love sharing so much that I’m accused of being a chronic oversharer, which you’d know if you follow me on Facebook 😉 ThisBigHappy will be downsizing a bit though, at least until the holidays pass.

I’ll still be posting but only expect 1 post a week, sometimes it might be 1 post every 10 days. I’ll still be spending way too much time on Facebook and Pinterest. I’ll still be posting, albeit less frequently over there too, at Homeschool Gameschool. But mostly, you’ll find me in my kitchen teaching my kids how to bake. Maybe you’ll see me driving the kids to a field trip. Some days you’ll find us experimenting with art at the table.

Thank you for bearing with me, my friends 🙂

meg

Leave a Reply

